Cranberry orange scones – ‘cut in’ the butter

Image

This was the second time I made this scone, and this time it turned out perfect. Practice makes perfect. Well, maybe practice + knowledge.

This recipe came from Food in Jars, a blog that I frequently visit for canning and jamming recipes. I packed these for Christmas gifts, and the first time I baked it, the result was a bit dry and not flaky. What went wrong? I trust that Marisa from food in jars would only share good and tested recipes. As my co-worker and I discuss our method of making the scones (note, both of us are not bakers), another co-worker who regularly bakes pointed us to the answer.

Cut the butter into the mix.

Definition: ‘Cut in’ means working cold, solid butter into dry ingredients with two knives or a pastry blender until well mixed. When making pastry, solid shortening, lard, or butter is cut in to a flour mixture until the particles are the size of small peas. This creates a flaky texture by coating the flour proteins with shortening, interrupting the gluten formation (from About.com)

So this time around, with my new knowledge under my belt, I set out to bake the scones.

It. Was. Delicious. Best I have ever tasted. It was moist, flaky, bouncy, and so fresh. I think I will make more scones from now on.

Enjoy~

2 thoughts on “Cranberry orange scones – ‘cut in’ the butter

  1. Stephen Hughes January 13, 2013 at 11:28 am Reply

    I clicked ‘Like’, because I liked your image so much, I wanted to eat it!
    Yum yum!! :)

    Like

  2. MKliving January 13, 2013 at 5:31 pm Reply

    Thank you! Your woodwork look impressive! I love wood work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

