A steep learning curve & a recipe

Learning curve

What is it with motherhood? It seems like there is always something new to learn just when things had just slowed down a bit. I cannot believe how fast time passes by, M is already 6 months old (almost, 1 more week). Not only is he a lot more vocal and opinionated, he is walking in his walker, sitting up without support and trying solids for the first time.

imageimage

Along with these mini milestones, I am adjusting daily to this thing called motherhood. It is very natural for me to put my wings around him, and shield him from anything that can possibly happen. Which, I have to admit, I had been doing. Yes, I am one of those super protective mom. I blame it on my vocation, I have worked with way too many kids who suffered from a simple “cold” that turned lethal and ended up on life support and needing heart transplant.

Although being a Christian means trusting in God’s ultimate sovereignty, I struggle a lot in the area of letting go. Simple things like going to church each Sunday, having play dates, and attending social functions had posed a threat to my sanity until just recently. I am constantly having to let go of my fear of the “what if”s. Recently in my neighborhood, there had been a firearm robbery and sexual assault one and two blocks from us. My mind was flipping out. I was determined to pick up and move to another “safer” and ” better” area regardless of the cost. My DH asked me point blank, whether I am going to move every time something bad happens. And I said Yes! That is the extent of how crazy I have become.

Times and times again, I have to relearn the lesson of trusting in God, and letting go of my fears. I know it is going to be a lifelong lesson, because just within the last 6 months, I already had many retakes. In the midst of my little faith and crippling fears, God had been patient and gracious. Nothing really had happened to M, and God continues to show me how blessed we are. My prayer to Him had been to allow me the time to take baby steps to let go one fear at a time until I can fully trust in His sovereignty through the highs and lows of this life. I am thankful that God knows what we can handle, and always brings us back to the path of life when we are open to His whispers.

A Recipe

On a slightly different subject, M is finally trying solids! I was holding it off until he is 6 months old, but I am running out of ideas on how to pass his awake time. Being a first time mom, I really have no clue what food to introduce to him first. After tons of reading, it came down to rice cereal or orange veggies. Then I read about arsenic in rice after I bought organic brown and white rice. Darn it! Then, of course, I researched like mad about how to reduce arsenic from rice. It just never ends.

The reason I still decided to start with rice cereal is because I can mix it with formula, so that it has a familiar taste to M. Also, I did not want to waste the rice I bought. After some experiments, I am very happy with my homemade rice cereal. The original recipe came from weelicious, I tweaked it to reduce arsenic in the rice, and also made it organic.

The key to reducing arsenic from any rice is to rinse, rinse, rinse. Since arsenic is absorbed via water, water is only vehicle to ridding it.

image

Dry toasted multi-grain rice cereal powder

Ingredients:

1 cup organic brown basmati rice

1 cup organic white basmati rice

It doesn’t have to be organic. In all my research about reducing arsenic in rice cereals, rice of foreign origins such as India and Thailand tested to have much less arsenic. Trader Joe’s offer these organic basmati rice at a very affordable price.

Preparation:

1. Rinse and drain the rice well until the water is clear.

2. Place the drained rice on cookie sheets, make sure to spread out the rice.

3. Place in the oven that is set at 275 F and bake for 2 hours or until dry.

4. Let the rice cool.

5. Grind the rice with spice grinder ( I used coffee grinder) for 45 seconds to 1 minute until finely ground (powder consistency).

And you have homemade multi grain rice cereal for your little one. It is cheaper than the store bought rice cereal, and you know you have done as much as you can to reduce arsenic. Also, the dry toasting make the cereal less bland as it has that toasted flavor.

To make 4 oz of rice cereal for your baby

1. Boil 1/2 cup of water

2. Add 2 tbsp of the rice cereal powder

3. Stir continuously for 1 minute, and then occasionally for 4-5 minutes until the consistency is smooth and creamy, without lumps.

4. Add additional breast milk or formula to thin out the cereal as needed. I added formula to the cereal so the taste is familiar to the little one.

2 thoughts on “A steep learning curve & a recipe

  1. Emily Chiang March 26, 2014 at 4:36 pm Reply

    Malee, the rice cereal recipe looks yummy and versatile and I’m about to try making it. Your little one is chubby and happy :), very good combination!

    Like

    • MKliving March 26, 2014 at 8:56 pm Reply

      Hopefully Joshua will like the rice cereal :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

